Monday, January 4, 2010

HEA Board Appointments on Fast Track

With the recent resignation of long-time HEA Board member Mike Pate, two of three southern Kenai Peninsula seats are vacant. The Board is moving fast to appoint replacements for Brian Hirsch and Mike Pate. With only Jim Levine left to represent HEA members from Kasilof south, the central peninsula now dominates HEA policy. Consequently, the six central peninsula Directors will determine who represents the interests of southern peninsula HEA members.

So far, all previous applicants for Brian Hirsch’s seat are being considered for the vacancies. HEA has also issued a call for others to apply by the end of this week -- Friday, January 8 by 5 PM. The Board plans to conduct interviews and make their decisions by the January 12 full Board meeting.

Given that the Holiday season still isn’t over for some HEA members, this schedule seems short. With all the seasonal celebrating it’s likely that some potentially excellent applicants aren’t even aware of this new opportunity to vie for a Board seat. At least one of the applicants already on the list is traveling and cannot be reached with notification that the appointment process has resumed.

Why not extended the deadline two weeks so that southern peninsula HEA members have more of an opportunity to see the best possible people are appointed to represent them on the HEA Board?

And why not consider throwing your hat in the ring? Applications are available on the HEA website ( or at HEA offices in Homer and Kenai. They must be returned by Friday, January 8, 2010 at 5 PM.

This and other important issues will be discussed at tomorrow’s (January 5) HEA Operations Committee meeting starting at 11 AM. Southern peninsula members can video conference from the Homer HEA offices. If you can’t attend why not take a few minutes to request that the Board extend the application deadline for a couple of weeks.

Deborah Debnam
debbie(email@) / 907.262.9277
District 2 - Sterling; Term Expires 2010

Tim Evans
heatde(email@) / 907.262.3734
District 2 - Sterling; Term Expires 2011

David B. Thomas
davidthomashea(email@) / 907.283.4109
District 1 - Kenai; Term Expires 2011

Eugene "Jim" Levine
jlevine(email@) / 907.299.0323
District 3 - Homer; Term Expires 2012

Jose "Tony" Garcia
tonygarcia43(email@) / 907.252.7790
District 1 - Nikiski; Term Expires 2010

Alan Bute
byrdave(email@) / 907.776.8115
District 1 - Kenai; Term Expires 2012

Ed Oberts
eoberts(email@) / 907.398.8039
District 2 - Soldotna; Term Expires 2012

No comments: